Observe (Post Propt Challenge)

Observe.

There’s this lady, let’s called her Jenny.

I often find myself gazing out of my window , perched on the window seat with my morning coffee and my dog. I see Jenny everyday like clockwork and although we’ve never met, I find myself contemplating her life. Where is she going everyday? What’s her story? Why does she take this precise route?

But today was different. She normally paces with a determined stride, rarely glancing anywhere but the next step she’s taking. But today, she slowed down a little and her eyes stopped on mine. With a ball of coffee mixed with anxiety stuck in my throat, I froze and we shared a moment, pouring into each others eyes. I know this sounds like the start of a great (or terrible) romantic novel but this was different. She smiled at me and looked to the blue sky above. I watched as her chest inhaled and exhaled in a simple sigh. I saw in awe her smile turn into a gentle laughter and she took to my eyes once again. After gently nodding in acknowledgment at me she took to pacing the concrete just outside my garden fence again. I can’t pretend I was anything else but confused, still. I continued to people watch and ponder about life.

A few hours later I heard the clunk of my letterbox close so I went to investigate. Poking out of it was a small, white piece of paper. I pulled it out and read what was on it.

“Life is beautiful. Thank you for sharing that moment with me today – Same time tomorrow?”

Small reminders. You may feel alone and invisible, but today I was reminded that I’m not alone. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll find the strength to walk the paths with “Jenny”. Maybe I’ve made a new friend. But today, the girl who can’t escape was noticed and if that’s not a sign of freedom impending, I don’t know what is.

C x

Author: therantsofninjapants

Just a girl in her own prison.

5 thoughts on “Observe (Post Propt Challenge)”

  1. Hey there! I came across your blog on First Friday, nice to meet you. You’ve captured a beautiful moment. There are a few grammatical points, but great story nevertheless. You also have an uncustomized text widget being displayed on your page. I would edit the text widget or remove it if it was placed there by default and you have no true purpose for it! Go ahead and add a header image, it would give a personal touch to your blog.
    I hope this information was helpful. I would love to see you over at my blog sometimes. It would be nice to hear your thoughts on my work, which you can leave in the post comments. I hope to see your subsequent work. Happy Blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the feedback! I’m fairly new to blogging so I wasn’t even awareof any widgets and whatnot’s so thank you for bringing that to my attention haha. If you could possibly check it out now I’ve tweaked a few things and let me know how it looks, I’d appreciate it buckets!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment